The 78th Legislature (2003) passed HB 804 prohibiting Texas municipalities from adopting local minimum wage laws for private employers
The cost of living varies by urban and rural cities across the state of Texas varies. Although we support a state $10 minimum wage and a $4 tipped wage indexed to inflation, it will never happen at the state level as we saw this past legislative session.
The only hope to reach a $10 minimum wage for private employers is to repeal section 62.0515 of the Texas constitution enabling cities and counties to set their own minimum wage for private employers.
Code – Labor Code
Chapter 62 – Minimum Wage
Section 62.0515 – application of minimum wage to certain governmental entities; certain agreements with governmental entities